You are here

Regional Information

Environmental Protection Agency

Coordinates regional offices around the nation. Each regional office is "responsible within selected states for the execution of the Agency's programs, considering regional needs and the implementation of federal environmental laws."

  • EPA Region 1 New England covers water issues, programs, and information in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and ten tribal nations.
  • EPA Region 2 covers water issues, programs, and information in New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands.
  • EPA Region 3 Mid-Atlantic covers the states of Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Site includes information on the EPA Chesapeake Bay Program.
  • EPA Region 4 Southeast covers water and water quality programs in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • EPA Region 5 covers information on water issues covering the states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
  • EPA Region 6 South Central has information on regional water quality plans, including those covering the Gulf of Mexico area. The region includes the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
  • EPA Region 7 Midwest covers the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.
  • EPA's Region 8 Mountains and Plains has information for the states of Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and 27 Tribal Nations.
  • EPA Region 9 Pacific Southwest covers Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, the Pacific Islands subject to U.S. law, and approximately 140 Tribal Nations. Drinking water, wastewater, and groundwater programs in the region are highlighted.
  • EPA Region 10 Pacific Northwest includes Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and 267 Indian Tribes.

DOC. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Information about the program and links to the Sea Grant programs across the country.

EPA. Office of Water.

The NEP is a collaborative, efficient, and adaptable ecosystem-based network of organizations that protects and restores 28 estuaries of national significance. Provides information on estuaries in the program, links to estuary sites, and information on topics such as air pollution and water quality.

USDA. National Institute of Food and Agriculture.

“The NIFA National Water Quality Program is supported in part by the Section 406 National Integrated Water Quality Competitive Grants Program. This program includes regional water quality coordination projects and associated direct-funded projects to support integrated, multifunctional agricultural research, extension, and education activities. The program is guided by a unique model for shared leadership which includes representatives from each of 10 regional projects (EPA regions), representatives from 1890 and 1994 institutions, and the NIFA national program leader for Water Quality. It is called the NIFA Committee for Shared Leadership for Water Quality (CSL-WQ).”

World Resources Institute.

"Aqueduct's global water risk mapping tool helps companies, investors, governments, and other users understand where and how water risks and opportunities are emerging worldwide."

Great Lakes Information Network

Extensive information about water resources and related issues in the Great Lakes region.

Environmental Protection Agency.

Content includes "Basic Information," "Policies and Strategies," "Monitoring and Indicators," "Ecosystems," and "Toxics Reduction and Pollution Prevention."