An official website of the United States government.

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.

This site is also protected by an SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate that’s been signed by the U.S. government. The https:// means all transmitted data is encrypted — in other words, any information or browsing history that you provide is transmitted securely.

Key Personnel and Services

For general inquiries please call 301-504-5755 or 1-800-633-7701. TDD Machine: 301-504-6856

Names and contact information of our key personnel
Name Email Phone Number
Director
Wester, Paul
paul.wester@usda.gov 301-504-5248
Deputy Director
Kosecki, Stan
stan.kosecki@usda.gov 301-504-5248
Administrative Officer
Jackson, Sandy
sandy.jackson@usda.gov 301-504-5572
Chief Collection Development Librarian
Esman, Mike
michael.esman@usda.gov 301-504-7565
Associate Director for Data Production Division (DPD) (Acting)
James, Jill
jill.james@usda.gov 301-504-6207
Associate Director for Information Products Division (IPD)
James, Jill
jill.james@usda.gov 301-504-6207
Associate Director for Information Systems Division (ISD) (Acting)
Pieper, Ursula
ursula.pieper@usda.gov 301-504-9320
Associate Director for Knowledge Services Division (KSD)
McCarthy, Susan
susan.mccarthy@usda.gov 301-504-5510
Chief, Applications Branch (ISD)
Pieper, Ursula
ursula.pieper@usda.gov 301-504-9320
Chief, Indexing and Informatics Branch (DPD)
Woodward-Greene, Jennifer
jennifer.woodward@usda.gov 301-504-6853
Chief, Scientific Data Engineering Branch (KSD)
Chan, Ming
ming.chan@usda.gov 301-504-6566
Chief, Acquisitions & Metadata Branch (DPD)
Bradsher, Charles
charles.bradsher@usda.gov 301-504-5040
Chief, Scientific Data Management Branch (KSD)
Arbuckle, Peter
peter.arbuckle@usda.gov 301-504-5047
Chief, Information & Customer Services Branch (IPD)
Shaw, Wendy
wendy.shaw@usda.gov 301-504-6369
Chief, Systems Technology Branch (ISD)
Schwartz, Stewart
stewart.schwartz@usda.gov 301-504-5830
Chief, Digitization & Access Branch (DPD)
Hanscom, Scott
scott.hanscom@usda.gov 301-504-6999
Chief, Digital Library Branch (IPD)
Adams, Kristina
kristina.adams@usda.gov 301-504-5486
Facilities Manager
Green, Romando
romando.green@usda.gov 301-504-5571
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP)
Esman, Mike
michael.esman@usda.gov 301-504-7565
Document Delivery
Derr, Kay
kay.derr@usda.gov 301-504-5879
Webmaster
Harmon, Kelly
kelly.harmon@usda.gov 301-504-5788
Thesaurus
Suri, Sujata
sujata.suri@usda.gov 301-504-5058